2016 Running Goals

I like to run. I’ll have plenty more to say about that, but for now, I present to you the only goals I’ve set for this year… and they’re all related to running.

1. Run 5k in under 30 minutes.

I think this is pretty realistic. Or at least, I think it’s pretty realistic until I try to run at a 10 minute pace for any length of time. The fastest 5k I’ve run in recent history was 31:57 on this past New Year’s Eve.

2. Run a mile in under 8:30.

The last single mile I ran for time was last May, and I did it in 9:03. That was the fastest since… what, middle school? We’ll see, this one feels like a reach.

3. Run 10 miles.

My longest run so far was 6.6 miles this past November. Gearing up for 8 miles with Steph on Saturday, though…

4. Try running before work.

I don’t even know how many times I’ve tried to make myself do this. It has never worked. The most recent occasion was Monday, but it turns out it’s still super dark in February at 6:20 and it was pouring rain and it was just not happening. Maybe this summer?

5. Run 5 days a week for one month.

I’m curious what running more often is like. I can tell you right now that this is absolutely not happening during the winter, but once it’s light out for longer and I can run after work, I think this is possible!

3 thoughts on “2016 Running Goals

  1. I love these! I want to try your last goal – I find it so so hard to run even just two days in a row, but I want it to start feeling normal!

    (Also, I looked at your recommended podcasts, and had to say – I JUST discovered Stuff Mom Never Told You and I can’t believe that I’ve been missing out on it all of these years. I have 700 episodes to catch up on now.)

    • Yeah, my usual attitude is that if I ran yesterday I totally should take today off, haha.

      And I’m so excited you’re listening to SMNTY! Did you listen to the practical wedding one? I thought of you and your comps!

  2. Pingback: 2016 Running Goals Update: May | mollomar

Leave a Reply

