May Running Madness: Week 1

5. RUN 5 DAYS A WEEK FOR ONE MONTH.

I made a strong start to the month with five runs last week, so I’m aiming to cross this one off by the end of May!

The stated objective for this goal is to see how I feel when I run more often, but I’m also hoping that taking the opportunity to build up my weekly mileage will help me accomplish my distance and speed goals.

Running at Spring Lake and Annadel

I did all but one of my runs last week at Spring Lake Regional Park before coming home from work. This means that running becomes the fun thing I get to do after work before I have to go home and do stupid grownup things like laundry and cooking dinner. I also get lots of new trails to explore, because Spring Lake connects with Howarth Park (which apparently also has a train, a carousel and a PETTING ZOO) and Annadel State Park.

An unexpected downside of being so excited about running right now is that I think I may be overdoing it a little. I had intended to start off slowly, keeping it to 2 or 3 mile runs with maybe a 4 on the weekend, but I ended up doing 5.5 miles on Friday and again today.

My knees and ankles are speaking to me, so I’m going to try to keep it at just a couple miles a day for the rest of the week.

In summary…

May 2 – 8

Runs: 5
Miles: 16.2 (3.3, 3.1, 2.2, 5.5, 2)
Canada geese seen: Like a million and oh so many goose babbies

Times I kind of got lost: 2… ish. Once I worried I had perhaps ended up at Lake Ralphine in Howarth Park. Another time a trail spat me out into a neighborhood about a mile from the park and I had to run back in through the entrance!

4 thoughts on “May Running Madness: Week 1

  1. Pingback: May Running Madness: Weeks 2, 3, and 4 | mollomar

  2. Pingback: 2016 Running Goals Update: May | mollomar

  3. Pingback: 2016 Running Goals Update: June and July | mollomar

  4. Pingback: 2016 Running Goals Update: … the entire rest of the year | mollomar

Leave a Reply

