2016 Running Goals Update: May

1. RUN 5K IN UNDER 30 MINUTES.

Done! 29:53, three weeks ago, on my usual route around the neighborhood.

You may remember, I started the new year having recently run 31:57. At the time, I thought I was already extremely close to reaching this goal. I felt sure I’d hit 30 minutes within a month or two.

So, I feel a little silly sitting here five months later, finally checking this one off. Really, though, I’ve been working towards this goal the whole time I’ve been running – ever since I ran 36:29 in my very first 5k in April 2012. It took me three and a half years to knock off five minutes.

That makes two minutes in five months seem pretty fantastic.

2. RUN A MILE IN UNDER 8:30.

I’ve been very consistent at not running any timed miles at all this spring. If I really push, I may be able to successfully continue this streak through the summer.

3. RUN 10 MILES.

Four runs over five miles in May! Working my way up.

It’s been hot, so I’m running into some issues with needing to bring a little water but deeply hating carrying a handheld bottle. Five trail miles takes me about an hour, so I’m definitely going to need a solution if I’m going to make it to ten. Anyone have any hydration vest or pack suggestions?

4. TRY RUNNING BEFORE WORK.

I started working 8 to 4 instead of 9 to 5. I might never do this.

5. RUN 5 DAYS A WEEK FOR ONE MONTH.

Done and done!

2 thoughts on “2016 Running Goals Update: May

  1. Pingback: 2016 Running Goals Update: June and July | mollomar

  2. Pingback: 2016 Running Goals Update: … the entire rest of the year | mollomar

Leave a Reply

