2016 Running Goals Update: June and July

I’ve felt really disorganized and unfocused for the last month or so, and it’s really surprised me. I think I’m almost out the other side now, though. I’ll have to see how it goes!

At the beginning of the summer, I exhibited what I now feel was some impressive willpower by continuing to run after work even though it was hot. But you guys… it’s still so hot. My mental game is weakening. I can neither be bothered to get up early enough to avoid the heat, nor get out and run in it.

So, I’m diversifying. I’m making an effort to still get out and do something, even if it’s not running. The following activities have made appearances lately:

  • Hiking
  • Going to the honest to goodness gym (okay this was only the one time but I plan to go again)
  • Standing in the pool (this might not be exercise)

Onward…

1. RUN 5K IN UNDER 30 MINUTES.

Done in May! 29:53.

2. RUN A MILE IN UNDER 8:30.

I’m just killing it on my no-timed-miles streak.

3. RUN 10 MILES.

Not yet. One 6.2 towards the end of June, and another at the Kenwood Footrace on the Fourth of July. Still working my way up…

4. TRY RUNNING BEFORE WORK.

Nope nope nope.

5. RUN 5 DAYS A WEEK FOR ONE MONTH.

DoneΒ and done!

Leave a Reply

