2016 Running Goals Update: … the entire rest of the year

Uh, so… what happened?

Well, I started looking for a new job in August, so between revising my resume, submitting applications, and lying in bed staring at the ceiling with every muscle in my face tensed, I didn’t have a lot of spare time. I started in on the new job in October, and simultaneously got into doing Crossfit. Between adjusting to my new work schedule and lifting so many things up off the ground – a previously foreign activity – I’m just now pulling my running life back together.

2016 Goal Review

1. RUN 5K IN UNDER 30 MINUTES.

Done in May! 29:53.

2. RUN A MILE IN UNDER 8:30.

I attempted to run a timed mile in the last week of December. It was SO COLD outside and I had been jumping rope trying to figure out double unders just prior, and possibly because of those two factors, it went pretty poorly – 10:04. That’s a pace I can sustain during a 10k race. I’ll just have to give it another shot this year!

3. RUN 10 MILES.

I’m a little surprised I never knocked this one out – 8 miles with Steph is still my longest. However, I’ve decided to train for the Napa Valley Silverado Half Marathon this April. I’ve started in on Hal Higdon’s Intermediate 1 half marathon training program, and I’m scheduled to get up to 10 miles in Week 8 of the program, which I should hit sometime in March. So, the outlook is good on this one.

4. TRY RUNNING BEFORE WORK.

Well, I technically did accomplish this, but only because I changed jobs and my work schedule radically shifted! I now normally start my workday at 10 or 11 in the morning, and finish up around 7 at night, so all of my running is taking place in the morning now.

5. RUN 5 DAYS A WEEK FOR ONE MONTH.

Doneย and done!

Let’s evaluate

While I definitely don’t get to check off all five goals, they did help me push myself to run faster, longer, and more often.

FASTER

I set 5k and 10k PRs this year!

I also realized recently that there is now a difference between my “easy” pace and my “race” pace. I’m not sure when this happened. For a long time, they were one and the same!

LONGER

As I get faster, running longer distances takes a slightly less preposterous chunk of time, and becomes more accessible. I ran six miles or longer nine times this year. Four miles is no longer a big deal

Running longer distances has also taken me to cooler places – I’ve loved running to Lake Ilsanjo in Annadel and I’m excited to try out some new trails this year.

MORE OFTEN

Looking back at the year, it sure looks like running more often makes me better at running. I know it shouldn’t come as a shock, but it’s cool to see!

Leave a Reply

